What a Week! NYC Marathon Training Week #13

What a week!  It’s been an amazing week for me and I hope it has been for you too!  The week started off with an anonymous donation, and another story of someone loved that was lost to cancer (stomach cancer in this case) and I dedicated my Monday night run to their family member.  Then the donations kept coming, and as promised all these people got some yummy pumpkin spice lattes in return for their generosity.

On the way to work on Friday to hand out some pumpkin spice lattes to some awesome co-workers that donated!

On the way to work on Friday to hand out some pumpkin spice lattes to some awesome co-workers that donated!

I still have to get some lattes to a couple of people, I promise they are coming to you soon.  I’ve decided to keep this going, so if you are thinking about donating any amount, just think you get a yummy coffee in return, and if you don’t drink coffee, you can have another treat 😉

Our donations total $297 this week,we are almost to $300- that is awesome!

Training this week, it was also awesome too!

Monday- 10 mile run from work to home!

Tuesday-did some awesome Vinyasa yoga at 502 Power yoga

Wednesday-went to Lululemon’s studio of the month Baptist Milestone (which I am loving, it is a wonderful facility) for SHRED.  I will be going again this week at 7:30 for TABATA. I had to look up what TABATA is, click here if you too need an explaination. The classes are free, you should check it out!

2014-09-11 07.55.29Thursday- Morning run-on the treadmill due to rain-did some Tempo work for 8 miles and held an 8:30 minute/mile pace for 5 miles.  That was tough, but I did it!

Friday- Rest day supreme!  Went to a nice and chilly outdoor concert (the temperatures were in the 60s, we are in shock here in Louisville)

Saturday-  Long Run of 20 miles!

My Long Run was dedicated in memory of Charles Lee Fenwick, he was one of the first patients I got to work with on a treatment trial. He was also Heather’s Dad.  Heather is a Nurse clinician that I work with.  She is awesome to work with, she keeps us all laughing, even on bad days. Mr. Fenwick sadly passed away in May 2013 after battling Lung Cancer.  He was a great guy!  He told me all about barbecuing in Western KY and maybe gave me a few pointers on making it myself.  I still miss him, I only met him a couple of times, but I always kept in my prayers.  I still think about him and say a little prayer for his family, it is never easy to lose someone or to deal with their absence.

It was a fun and quiet run yesterday. As I ran through a wooded area, there was this beautiful (LARGE-almost scary large) deer that peeked out of the bush for a only a few seconds, too fast for me to get my phone off my arm.  Charles was a big hunter, Heather has told me she feels like her Dad sends her Deers sometimes… I somehow felt like he was saying “hi” to me and to Heather.

My run went awesome, I fueled my run the night prior with some chicken fried rice, and in the morning with a breakfast burrito (recipe from the feed zone, message me and I will send it to you), 8 ounces of Gatorade and a shot of Elevate.

Elevate shot from Thorne Fx supplements.  I take just one of these before my long runs for a little extra energy.

Elevate shot from Thorne Fx supplements. I take just one of these before my long runs for a little extra energy.

I ran through Brown and Seneca Parks, in Seneca park there was a 5k being set up, for FARE.  I had no idea about this organization, they did a good job with awareness, they had other small signs with fun facts about food allergies posted along the Seneca Loop.  Very interesting, especially for people that have food allergies ( I myself am allergic to avocados-yes I know this is sad).

I did not know this organization existed, but I am glad it does.  Food allergies are no fun and these people are researching to cure them and treat them.

I did not know this organization existed, but I am glad it does. Food allergies are no fun and these people are researching to cure them and treat them.

I pushed myself to sprint up the hills of Cherokee (if you sprint up hills, you get done with them faster).

Taking a break at mile 15 in Cherokee park!

Taking a break at mile 15 in Cherokee park!

Oh!  I almost forgot, my on run nutrition:

Mile 5 (1 hour into my run) : I had 100 grams or 20 grapes to eat with about 16 ounces of water.

Mile 11 ( 2hours and 15 minutes) : 2 salt tablets and one Honey Stinger gel with 16 ounces of water.

My total Run time was 3:57:29- which compared to my last 20 miler ( 4:13:58) is about 16 minutes faster.  Speed is not everything, but it’s nice to see that improvement once in awhile.  I also felt great when I got done, that is my true triumph, finishing a long run and not feeling “broken” is a BIG sign you are doing something right! After my run I was still tired and needed to sit for awhile, but that is pretty standard after running that far.

So what does week #14 look like?

Monday- Run 13 miles or do body pump

Tuesday-Run 13 miles (if not done on Monday) and yoga

Wednesday-visiting Lululemon’s studio of the Month for a TABATA class.  Once again, feel free to join, it is FREE!  Visit the Facebook page!

Thursday- Fierce Speed work will be done on the treadmill at the Y before the sun comes up,11 miles of fun!  Then yoga at 502 Power Yoga in the evening, this is a wonderful and fun studio, you should check them out too! 502 Power Yoga has a special deal right now, 40 days of unlimited yoga for $40.  This is a real savings if you take even 2 classes a week. Check them out-here!

Friday-Rest Day 🙂

Saturday- Run 16 miles before a good friend gets hitched!

HUGE THANK YOU to EVERYONE that donated this week, you guys are all AMAZING!

Dana, Alexis, Bryce, and Heather.  You are all my heroes and you put the biggest smile on my face! THANK YOU for Standing Up to Cancer with me!

In just 48 days I will be toeing the start line for the TCS NYC Marathon and I would love to get some more donations and to give more people some pumpkin spice lattes this week!

Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

